home mobile
  • Star Parade at the Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2018

    Star Parade at the Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2018

      Star parade at the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, with World and Olympic Champions The Cyprus Sunshine Cup is once again a playground for the World Elite of mountain bike racing. The 2012 Olympic Champion, Jaroslav Kulhavy, and 2017 World Championship bronze medalist, Thomas Litscher, will Read More
  • Live the race! Be a proud volunteer at Cyprus Sunshine Cup

    Live the race! Be a proud volunteer at Cyprus Sunshine Cup

    The most significant cycling race is right at your doorstep. Be a proud volunteer now! Read More
  • "It has to be experienced": Sun, trails and delicacies

  • "Cyprus has something distinctive".

    Fabian Giger interview Read More
  • Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesjaa enthusiastic about Cyprus

    Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesjaa enthusiastic about Cyprus

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


Final stage of Cyprus Sunshine Cup on Sunday waits for another big fight. Olympic champion Sabine Spitz (Ger) is on the list to compete with Lene Byberg (Nor), Annika Langvad (Den) and Blaza Klemencic (Slo). At the ancient village of Amathous in the outskirts of Limassol, Emil Lindgren (Swe) tries again to go for his first victory by beating Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) and Karl Markt (Aut).

Sabine Spitz has just arrived on Cyprus to open up her mountainbike competition season at Amathous. The Olympic champion of Bejing 2008 since years is a regular visitor on the Mediterranean island.

For sure she is not expected to be on the level that makes her able to compete with Langvad, Byberg, Klemencic and some other women. After taking part on the cyclo cross world championships Sabine Spitz after a break has to restart for the mountainbike season.

On the other hand her Central Haibike team mate Elisabeth Brandau (Ger), who had the same program, at Afxentia stage race already showed a pretty good performance.

Terezea Hurikova (Cze) and Kathrin Stirnemann (Sui) are completing the roster of Spitz’ own squad. Hurikova for two month was training in Arizona (USA) and comes nearly directly to Cyprus. Unfortunately she got sick during the last week of her stay in Tucson. So one have to wait what she can do on Sunday at Amathous.

It is expected that in women’s competition Annika Langvad (Den), Lene Byberg (Nor) and Blaza Klemencic (Slo) will compete for the win of the final stage. Langvad was the strongest lady in the first two stages but lost the victory in Afxentia stage race by an unfortunate organizational mistake. In 2010 she missed the win at Amathous due to a technical problem.

Emil Lindgren was the unlucky fellow of Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2011 up to now. The Swede lost his chance in Voroklini in the last lap due to a mistake while riding in the lead together with Karl Markt (Aut). At Afxentia time trial he missed the win only by 1,5 seconds. In the second stage Lindgren was in the lead by around 30 seconds with about six kilometers to go when he punctured and the finished the race on the rim of his front wheel (12th position). And in the cross country race he found himself beaten by Jaroslav Kulhavy, came into the line only by ten seconds.

“I will go full gas again”, Lindgren gave notice this week that he will try to take the last chance to leave Cyprus with his first season win.

European champion Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) has needed two attempts to get into his competition mode. After Afxentia’s time trial and point to point he was ready to go for the first victory this year.

He will be the man to beat on the demanding course directly on the sea side. But not only him. Karl Markt, leader of the Cyprus Sunshine Cup overall, is riding on the same level.

Fabian Giger (Sui) should be a contender for the podium as well. Interesting to see if new entry Thomas Litscher (Sui) will be the same. The u23 vice world champion will do his first mountainbike race this year.

His u23 competitor Henk-Jaap Moorlag (Ned) has to be noticed as well.


Cyprus Sunshine Cup overall standings after round 2 of 3


1. Blaza Klemencic (Slo/Felt Ötztal X-Bionic) 180
2. Rie Katayama (Jpn/Specialized) 145
3. Anne Terpstra (Ned/MPL Specialized) 145
4. Laura Turpjin (Ned/Dutch National Team) 136
5. Iana Belomoyna (Ukr/Info Tre BI ESSE) 122


1. Karl Markt (Aut/ Felt Ötztal X-Bionic) 200
2. Fabian Giger (Sui/Rabobank-Giant) 165
3. Emil Lindgren (Swe/Rabobank-Giant) 165
4. Jan Skarnitzl (Cze/Rubena Birell Specialized) 150
5. Periklis Ilias (Gre/ Protek) 142


Find more on www.cyclingcy.com


csc logo square


We Support:

  wheels4life banner  

Main Sponsor:

  Cyprus in your heart  
Like us on Facebook

Co-Organised by:



  Atlantic Insurance   Hellenic Bank  


Media Sponsors: