home mobile
  • Star Parade at the Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2018

    Star Parade at the Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2018

      Star parade at the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, with World and Olympic Champions The Cyprus Sunshine Cup is once again a playground for the World Elite of mountain bike racing. The 2012 Olympic Champion, Jaroslav Kulhavy, and 2017 World Championship bronze medalist, Thomas Litscher, will Read More
  • Live the race! Be a proud volunteer at Cyprus Sunshine Cup

    Live the race! Be a proud volunteer at Cyprus Sunshine Cup

    The most significant cycling race is right at your doorstep. Be a proud volunteer now! Read More
  • "It has to be experienced": Sun, trails and delicacies

  • "Cyprus has something distinctive".

    Fabian Giger interview Read More
  • Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesjaa enthusiastic about Cyprus

    Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesjaa enthusiastic about Cyprus

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Cyprus Sunshine Cup 2011: Spitz and Lakata taking the ticket to the sun
Cyprus Sunshine Cup’s startlist is growing.

Olympic champion Sabine Spitz and her new Central Haibike Pro Team are having confirmed for Amathous race. Rabobank-Giant has registered, Lene Byberg gave notice to take part as well as Alban Lakata.

Sabine Spitz has a special relationship with Cyprus. Germans mountainbike lady number one is a frequenter on Cyprus. She is taking the ticket to a training camp in the sun for several times a year. Since she has her own team she takes her team members with her for the spring training camp. U23 vice European champion Kathrin Stirnemann (Sui), Tereza Hurikova (Cze) and Elisabeth Brandau (Ger) are the new companions of Sabine Spitz. At Central Haibike Team presentation last Friday the talked about having the season kick off at Cyprus Sunshine Cup’s final destination Amathous.


Alban Lakata from Austria comes as current marathon world champion. For the Topeak-Ergon rider it is not the first time on the island. He prepares for the Cape Epic in South Africa and with his rainbow stripes he is giving the series on Cyprus some more honour.

Rabobank-Giant has already registered for the CSC. Part of the team are hopeful young dutch riders lead by junior world champion Michiel van der Heijden. They will be accompanied by more experienced Adam Craig (USA) and Emil Lindgren (Swe).

Lene Byberg was having a bad year in 2010. After her most successful season 2009, when she got silver at the worlds, the Norwegian struggled last year. That was maybe not be because after years she didn’t take part on Cyprus Sunshine Cup in 2010 but she will be back in 2011 to find her rhythm again.

Not at least we can find Thomas Litscher on the registration list. The Swiss rider in 2010 got the silver medal at the U23 world championships in Mont Sainte Anne (Can). The former junior world champion is one of the strong young guns of Switzerland who will be on the top within the next years.

csc logo square


We Support:

  wheels4life banner  

Main Sponsor:

  Cyprus in your heart  
Like us on Facebook

Co-Organised by:



  Atlantic Insurance   Hellenic Bank  


Media Sponsors: